top of page

Evaluation

In this entry, I'm going to evaluate my work, talk what this assignment is about, what went well, what went wrong, what I need to improve for the next project.

Our assignment was to create a 30 second advertisement for a product of our choice. In my case I choose to do an advert for Smarties and aimed at the ages between 5-40 as Smarties has a wide range audience, because the kids are the ones who want the product but are the parents that buy the chocolate for them.

For call my audience target attention I used Logos to "say" why the parents "need" to buy smarties for their children, why it is special, in this case the reason behind my choice was because since 4 years ago Smarties start to be more "natural", not using artificial flavours or colours on their candy and like that was better than other brands of the market. From the Marlow's Hierarchy of Needs, is in the Physiological because is in the food part.

I did my advert like a stop motion using the product, to do some images and shapes. Nothing in this situation went wrong because was a simple video to make, that I didn't need actors or specific locations that was difficult to go or that need permission to go and film it there.

I think for being the first project and the first time that I worked with Media properly I wasn't expecting my work being brilliant and of course that I need to change/improve some things for the next project: first, next time I need to do my photos with a little bit more of quality, maybe some colour grade but at the time I didn't know how to do it; second, I need to get better at the editing part even if this project didn't had much of editing to do like a lot of raw footage, is something that I need to improve for the next one;

I shot for 4 days, because for 25 frames per second I needed 750 photos in total to make an 30s Ad so I divided in 3 to make easier to do. The only problem that I encounter in my work journey was that I needed good light for the photos that I was taking so I only could shot between 10AM-16PM and it something happened like if the battery died or if that day the sun was behind the clouds I had to stop taking pictures and wait until was back to normal, that was the main reason why I took one more day to shoot photos for my video, since one of the days was raining and cloudy and the lighting was awful and really dark .

For the editing part I took 2 days to do it because first I was getting sick at the time and second my computer with premiere was really slow and After Effects didn't open.

With this project I learned a lit bit of everything since was the first time I did a "real project", I learned to work on Premiere, After Effects and Photoshop; I learn how to do "all" the paper work that I need to do every time we do a project (Pre Production); I learn how to do a Evaluation; I learn how to use my knowledge about different topics like Pathos, Logos and Ethos or Malow's Hierarchy of Needs and apply them to my project and give a message.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page