top of page

FMP Evaluation

How closely your final product matches your original intentions

At the start of my project I wanted to do a documentary about immigration and, since I’m Portuguese I wanted to interview some other Portuguese and they would tell their experience. Since almost every person that I asked didn’t want to appear in the video or wanted something in exchange I was “forced” to change the theme of my Final Major.

I changed my theme to a promotional video/advert for my college, Bridgwater and Taunton College (more specific the Taunton Campus) and the challenge for this project was create an advert where I could call the attention of an audience between 15-24 years old (this is the age where you can apply to a course at the college for free).

My idea was filming around the college showing some of the courses that the presents, showing the campus around and the students in their day to day; but other problem that I had during this project was that the college next year (2017/2018) is going to suffer some changes, it’s going to be a university so some of the courses that I wanted to film at the end wasn’t possible. In that situation, I focused more in the Arts House, where two of the courses that I could film without a problem: the first course was the Music Performance and the second is the Creative Media (Tv and Film).

For filming this video, I used their classes to be like a normal day, for the music performance I filmed at the music studio and for the Tv and Film I filmed in the Tv studio and in the class where we work. I think that filming at this place help the video to show what real happens at a normal day and what a person could expect when enter in one of the courses.

Technical quality of final product

For filming this project, I used a Canon EOS 750D with a camera lens EF-S (18-55mm); for this particularly project I didn’t used tripod or other material. In this video, I wanted different type of shots, some close up shots, some pan shots, some still shots, etc…

I added also some effects that I thought that made the video a little bit more interesting and dynamic, and that I got inspired by a music video that some of my colleagues did in their project with a band that they work at the time.

I also put a music that maybe wouldn’t be associated with and advert for a college but a though that also made the video more dynamic.

For editing this video and finishing this project I used some programs that helped me achieve the final product: one of the programs that I used was Adobe Premiere CC, where I edited my video, cutting, synchronizing with music, color grading and color correction; for editing the piece of music that is in my video, because was to long for the size of my video, I used Adobe Audition CC; for the effects that I put in the video to turn more dynamic I used After Effects to execute.

Other program that I used, in this case to do the poster/flyer for my project, was Adobe Photoshop CC to edit and join everything together.

Production skills acquired and existing skills you have further developed

The skills that I needed to for this final project where that I need to know how to plan my time every day or even every hour and that way I had my project done before the deadline. I had to learn how to talk to people, to this way could include in the video, I’m a shy person so this was a big step for me to continue this project; I also had to think in advance the shots that I wanted to do and how many seconds/minutes I wanted my video to have.

Examples of Promotional Videos for Colleges/Universities

#1 Kendall College Promotional Video for 2017

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0Uf5Ui6iiK)

In this promotional video from the Kendall College we can see that the college and courses are shows throught the video.

I choose this promo video because was one of the promo videos that inspired me to do my one, also was filmed from a ex-student of that college, so this way I could have a professional exemple but made by a student.

The video begins showing the College loop, after that shows the main entrance and then starts filming in the inside, that way the cameraman is showing us the way into the college like we actually were there. Goes up the stairs and enters in the canteen, showing around the space, the food that they are eating and the library.

After that firsts 20 seconds, it begins to show the different courses that exist like being teacher, plumber, veterinarian, forensic cientist or hairdresser, etc...

In this type of videos the most common shots is the pan shots and the close ups, and was also there were I got inspired to put also in my video.

#2 Bridgwater and Taunton College Promotional Video 2017 (Final Major Project)

This is my one promotional video for the Bridgwater and Taunton College; I took some ideas from the video that I talk before, from Kendall College.

In this side I'm going to evaluate my own work, tell what I like from my video, what I would change, what I can do better next time, etc...

My video starts with a still shot at the entrance where I wanted to show the logo and the name of the college right in the beginning, and I was lucky enough that a couple of students were walking into the college, what make a different beginning.

Next shot is in the reception, where I did a pab shot showing around (since the changes that I talked before I couldn't go to any place in the main part of the college so that's way I only filmed the main entrance).

In the next shot, is where I start to present the course where I'm in showing the TV studio where we edit our work, the film studio where we filmed some of our projects; For my promo I had the idea of showing the behind the scenes of a colleague of mine, Gonçalo Ganga, working in is own Final Major, but that way I could show a percent that the new students could do also for their projects if they studied in the Bridgwater and Taunton College, and also show that in our college we can be imaginative and creative and put our own ideas in our projects.

I think that some things can change and get better for our next projects. One of the changes is the quality of the video, I think that could be a lot better at this time of the course, and also I want to be more professional at color grading and color correction for my videos.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page