top of page

Development Journal

20/03/2017 (Monday)

  • Starting writing ideas about the final project;

  • Theme;

  • "Characters";

  • Place to film.

In this class, I started thinking about my final major, what is going to be about, who I'm going to interview where I'm going to film, what type of video that I want. In the end I though that could be a good idea if was a documentary about Immigration and showing testimonials about it. In my case I though to do about Portuguese people, what call them hear, what was their situation before, what they let behind, etc.

21/03/2017 (Tuesday)

  • Research for the final project;

Today in class I started to do the first steps of my research for my project. I started for researching what is a documentary, what forms it have, the different types; also start to research about interviews and how to interview someone in a documentary, to be professional.

29/03/2017 (Wednesday)

  • Start writing the final major:

  • Proposal (first one):

  • Section 1 Rationale

" My first year in the Bridgwater & Taunton College started September 2016. When I enter this course, I didn’t have any professional experience around media; I completed my high school in Portugal and the course that I was in was about Languages and History, so nothing to do with this course. The only contact I had with media before I start this course was using cameras and taking photos, because I did some workshops still in Portugal. Between the 7 units of the qualification I learned a lot of new techniques like how to do different camera angles and shots, how to place lights in different positions to achieve the best lightning, I learned how to work with editing software like Premiere and Audition, software to edit image like Photoshop and Illustrator, I learned how to interview people in camera, how to be professional working with real clients, working with the green screen and learning how to get the best use of it; everything that I learned is important for me and for my future in this area, because this are techniques that I’m going to be using for the rest of my professional life. After more than 6 months (at this moment), and after different subjects, I decided to do a promotional video for the Bridgwater & Taunton College (Taunton Campus) because like this I can apply different techniques that I learned this first year. "

  • Section 2 Project Concept;

" For my final major project, I decide to do a promotional video about the Bridgwater & Taunton College, more specific about the Taunton Campus. I wanted to do a promotional video because this way I can show a lot of the techniques that we learned this first year that I study at college, this can also count as work experience for me since I’m working with a client. My idea for this project is doing a promotional video for the Bridgwater & Taunton College where I can show the Arts House where I study this entire year and that way show to students that are interested in this type of courses. I going to film around the campus, showing the inside and outside of the college. Because of some changes that the college is going to suffer next year, I couldn’t film in a lot of courses, so that way was my decision of making a video about the Arts House. For filming this project, I would need only a camera, this way I would be more in the control of the shots that I do and can move easily. For the filming of this project I needed to ask permission to college, because I was filming in their campus and after I got that permission and some recommendations I started my filming. For the research, I look up everything around promotional videos like what is a promotional video, how to do one, what I need to put in a promo video, what type of angles and shots that are more important for this type of videos, etc… "

30/03/2017 (Thursday)

  • Ending writing the FM Proposal (first one):

  • Section 3 Evaluation;

" For the evaluation, I’m going to separate in two: first I’m going to evaluate the process until the conclusion of my project, doing an evaluation of my idea, the process of my work; second part is where I’m going to evaluate the after, what went wrong and what went right, what can I do better next time, what can I change for a similar project, etc… To keep track my ideas and decisions I’m going to do a development journal to keep all dates and developments, ideas, plans, researches and anything that could help for the final product. "

  • Section 4 Project Plan and Timetable;

" For this project, I decide to divide my timetable into 3 parts to be easier and more organized: my first timetable I decide to be the research one, and I gave two weeks for the research everything that I wanted to begin my FMP; in this timetable, I also put the 2 weeks of holidays that we had for Easter, that can be good for any type of tests that I want to do and that could make my project go most smoother and go like I planned. In the second timetable, I put the filming part, where I’m divide in 3 weeks to have a lot of time to film and reshoot if needed. Now, I also need before filming to contact the college to know if they authorize the filming and if they have any recommendations. In the third timetable, I’m going to put the 2 weeks of editing, including the week that we are not having classes. The deadline for this project is June 13 so until that day I will organize my weeks to have everything done and prepared at the end. "

  • Section 5 Proposal Research Sources and Bibliography.

" The research for my project was all made in the internet, using different sites to back up my final product:

· Ruffel, Christopher (2011) “5 Steps: How to make a Promotional Video, Step-By-Step Guide” Available from: www.reelmarketer.com/how-to-make-a-promotional-video/ [Accessed 24th May 2017];

· Harper Collins Publishers Limited- Collins English Dictionary “Definition of ‘Promo Video’” Available from: www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/promo-video ;

· Wikipedia (2016)- “Corporate Videos” Available from: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corporate_video · Time Lapse- Peter Mckinnon Youtube Channel (video editing) Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v= U6tSx5kYuOk;

· Videos:

  • Kendal College Promotional Video for 2017;

  • College Promotion Video;

  • UWC Mahindra College Promotional Video 2015;

  • Stockport College Promotional Video;

  • East Riding College- Promo Video 2013;

  • Lyon College Promotional Video;

  • Ambose University College Promo Video. ·

Color Grading In Adobe Premiere- www.filmora.wordeshare.com/adobe-premiere/color-grading-in-adobe-premiere.html ;

Evaluation Inspiration- https://es.slideshare.net/DenniHepburn/evaluation-final-major-product"

31/03/2017 (Friday)

  • Continuing finding FMP themes and researching:

FMP #3- Short Film

What is a short film?

Is a cinema format, denoting any film not long enough to be considered a feature film.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, defines a short film as “an original motion picture that has a running of 40 mins or less, including all credits”. Short films are often screened at local, national or international film festivals and made by independent film makers for non profit, either with a low budget or no budget at all. They are usually funded by film grants, non profit organizations, sponsor or personal funds.

Shot films ate generally used by filmmakers to gain experience or prove their talent in order to gain funding for future from private investors, entertainment companies or film studios.

18/04/2017 (Tuesday)

  • PowerPoint (first project):

At today's class I started doing the PowerPoint for my presentation, where I need to talk about whats my FMP about (in this case a documentary), the interviews that I need to do, the research for my project, the diferente locations that I'm going to film, budget and timetables.

21/04/2017 (Friday)

After trying to cal diferente people to interview and have received different "negative" responses like "I don't want to be on camera", "what I'm going to receive to do that" or "can't I talk but don't appear on camera?", I decided to change my Project theme for a Promotional vídeo for the Bridgwater & Taunton College.

The reason why I choose to change my FMP to a Promotional Video, is because when we were researching/seing other FMP's from other students or from other colleges I got inspired to do one. Some of the vídeos that I saw it and I got inspired by some of the shots was (...). The other reason why I choose to do this promotional vídeo for the college is because, in a conversation with the class, our teacher ask us if we had any ideas to call the attention for our course and our college, so I though that this kind of promo was good for us.

In a project before, the podcast, I also did about our course in specific and that way call the attention for our course, saying what is about, what can offer, what we do and what to expect when enter the course.

24/04/2017 (Monday)

  • Starting researching for the FMP (second project):

I start my reasearch about corporate vídeos advertisement: what is a corporate vídeo, what type of corporate vídeos exist, how to make a professional promotional vídeo, searching for promotional vídeos in the same theme than mine;

Promotional Video

For my Final Major Project, I decide to do a promotional video for the Bridgwater & Taunton College, so I needed to do a research about everything that I need to know before I start my production. In this case I needed to start my pre-production, where I’m researching about promotional videos, what it is, how to make one, looking up at some examples and analyzing them.

25/04/2017 (Tuesday)

  • Writing the FMP Proposal (second project):

I started to write my proposal for my second Project;

28/04/2017 (Friday)

  • Presentation (second project):

I made my presentation today for my FMP; I did a PowerPoint presentation where I needed to show what my project is going to be about, the location, maybe characters that would appear along the vídeo, giving some ideas in what type of shots that I'm going to do, the timetable and the budget for this project.

02/05/2017 (Tuesday)

Ended all the papperwork that I need for my projects, like proposal, treatment, scheduel, risk assessment, location; Also ended my presentation for my second project.

05/05/2017 (Friday)

  • Presentation (vídeo):

Today we did our presentations for ours FMP's where I need to show what my project is going to be about, the locations that I'm going to be filming, maybe characters that would appear along the vídeo, giving some ideas in what type of shots that I'm going to do, the timetable and the budget for this project.

My presentation was at 9h30, and our presentation was a 1:1 with our teacher, where I presented my idea. We filmed at our studio and put it on youtube.

At the afternoon I sended emails to the diferente courses that I wanted to film for my project and ask if I could film while their at classes.

08/05/2017 (Monday)

Start to searching differenre ways that could film my promotional vídeo, diferentes shots that I should use like close ups, do a time lapse for the beginning of the vídeo, putting the voice off into the vídeo (voice from the advert at Spotify).

For this project I though that was a good idea to do a time lapse for my vídeo, but I didn't know how to do it. So I went to YouTube and researched for it and founded a channel where were good vídeos for what I was looking for.

His name is Peter McKinnon and he makes vídeos for YouTube about equipment, software for editing like première or Photoshop, ways to film, techniques, etc. The vídeo that help me for the time lapse was one called "The BEST way to make a TIME LAPSE!" where he shows the best way, in his opinion, to do a time lapse, giving exemples and showing how it's done.

In this vídeo he shows that the way that he does a time lapse is taking a lot of pictures in sequence;

Using the Lightroom, he organized and edited every Picture. And using Premiere he joined everything together.

09/05/2017 (Tuesday)

  • Storyboard:

Draw the storyboard for my promotional vídeo. I draw my storyboard with the different shots and courses that I'm going to film for my video.

15/05/2017 (Monday)

Today is the last day of Pre-Production that was what happend all day; put everything at the Wix Page, everything organized, and that way I can start filming what I have planned.

16/05/2017 (Tuesday)

I also start to film and take some pictures for the poster and for the vídeo. I filmed my room and my course. The pictures that I took was for be using in the poster.

22/05/2017 (Monday)

A this class I ended every production file and pre-production and finally everything in the Wix Page.

23/05/2017 (Tuesday)

Today I did some shots around the college, filmed the entrance and at the studio.

06/06/2017 (Tuesday)

Last day of filming. Filmed at the studio with Gonçalo Ganga, used some of the backstage footage that I took of his Project to use in my promotional vídeo to show how can a tv and film student work.

Also start editing the vídeo. I pass the last three days (09/10/11) editing the advert.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page